Contact Info, Wave Physics

Participant Lists

Name Affiliation Address Research Interests Areas of Interests
Anstis, Geoff

Applied Physics, UTS

Dept. of Applied Physics
University of Technology, Sydney
PO Box 123
Broadway 2007
Phone: 9514 2193
Fax: 9514 2219
Email: Geoff.Anstis@uts.edu.au

Coherent scattering of high energy electron waves by crystals, Solution of time-dependent Schroedinger's equation using pseudo-spectral techniques.

Interested in applying numerical technique to simulate propagation of ultrasound pulses in biological material.

Beattie, James

School of Chemistry, USYD

School of Chemistry F11
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3797
Fax: 9351 3329
Email: beattiej@chem.usyd.edu.au

Colloid chemistry, Ultrasonics, Electroacoustics.

Require theoretical and mathematical support.

Bedding, Tim

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2680
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: bedding@physics.usyd.edu.au

Stellar oscillations (standing acoustic waves in stars, used for seismic analysis).

 

Botten, Lindsay

School of Mathematical Sciences, UTS

School of Mathematical Sciences
University of Technology
PO Box 123
Broadway 2007
Phone: 9514 2247
Fax: 9514 2260
Email: Lindsay.Botten@uts.edu.au

EM waves on regular and random media, Diffraction.

 
Cairns, Iver

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3961
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: cairns@physics.usyd.edu.au

Plasma wave instabilities, Stochastic growth physics, Nonlinear plasma wave physics, Analysis of spectral data.

Space physics(corona, solar wind, magnetospheres and ionospheres of planets), Plasma physics, Waves.

Wanted: Wavelet techniques, Stochastic differential equations.

Cram, Lawrence

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2934
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: l.cram@physics.usyd.edu.au

Inverse problem from projections, Design and optimization of large radio interferometer using Fourier imaging.

 
Cramer, NF

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3162
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: cramer@physics.usyd.edu.au

Plasma physics, Nonlinear waves.

 
Das, Pritha

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3169
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: pritha@physics.usyd.edu.au

   
de Sterke, Martijn

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2906
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: desterke@physics.usyd.edu.au

Nonlinear optics, Solitons.

 
Durrant, Chris

School of Mathematics and Statistics, USYD

School of Mathematics and Staststics
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 5780
Fax: 9351 4534
Email: c.durrant@maths.usyd.edu.au

Solar/Stellar global oscillations, MAG(magneto- acoustic gravity) waves in solar interior and lower atmosphere, Mostly linear theory - numerical solutions to account for nonuniform geometry/material properties.

 
Dwarkadas, Vikram

School of Physics, USYD

Special Research Centre for Theoretical Astrophysics
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 6079
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: vikram@physics.usyd.edu.au

Astrophysical shock waves
Techniques used : 2D finite-difference numerical hydrodynamics using higher-order Godunov methods (Piecewise parabolic method).

Needed better 3D methods and better visualization techniques for data, especially for 3D data.

Fay, Roger

Faculty of Medicine
Dept. Obstetrics, Gynaecology

PO Box 82
Emu Plains 2750
Fax: 4735 4911
Email: rfay@medeserv.com.au

Doppler flow velocity wave forms of the uteroplacental circulation.

 
Galloway, DJ

School of Mathematics and Statistics, USYD

School of Mathematics and Staststics
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2968
Fax: 9351 4534
Email: dave@maths.usyd.edu.au

Astrophysical fluid dynamics and MHD, Nonlinearity and Chaos, Numerical Methods.

 
Gordon, Evian

Psychological Medicine, Westmead Hospital and USYD

Email: egordon@mail.usyd.edu.au

Brain dynamics.

Needed new methods of linear/non-linear analysis explored in EEG databse.

Green, Anne

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2727
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: a.green@physics.usyd.edu.au

Space plasmas - ISM work, 3D imaging - image manipulation using wavelet or other techniques, Magnetic fields in astrophysics.

 
Guy, Duncan

Westmead Hospital

National Heart Foundation Fellow
Department of Cardiology
Westmead Hospital, NSW 2145
Phone: 9845 6795
Fax: 9845 8323
Email: duncang@westgate.wh.usyd.edu.au

   
He, Hao

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 5770
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: h.he@physics.usyd.edu.au

   
Ivers, David

School of Mathematics and Statistics, USYD

School of Mathematics and Staststics
University of Sydney 2006
Email: david@maths.usyd.edu.au

Geomagnetism and Planetary magnetism, MHD, and Dynamics theory.

 
Li, Bo

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 5896
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: boli@physics.usyd.edu.au

   
Macaskill, Charles

School of Mathematics and Statistics, USYD

School of Mathematics and Staststics
University of Sydney 2006
Email:c.macaskill@maths.usyd.edu.au

Waves in physical oceanography, Acoustics, Vortex interactions.

 
McKenzie, David

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3577/9351 5986
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: d.mckenzie@physics.usyd.edu.au

   
McPhedran, Ross

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3872
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: ross@physics.usyd.edu.au

Diffraction gratings, Composite materials, Integral equations, Homogenization multiple methods, Visualization.

Needed: Density of states methods

Maddalena, Des

Pharmacology Dept., USYD
Aimaze Pty Ltd, Australian Technology Park

Email: desm@mail.usyd.edu.au

Math modelling using artificial neural nets, genetic algorithms, fuzzy logic in chemistry/biology /medicine areas, Industrial applications of above techniques, Bioinformatics, Human vision science.

 
Padden, Whayne

OFTC, School of Mathematics, USYD

Email: padden@physics.usyd.edu.au

Nonlinear optics, Plasma physics, Vortex dynamics.

 
Price, Don

CSIRO Telecommunications and Industrial Physics

Phone: 9413 7447
Email: don.price@tip.csiro.au

Elastic wave propagation in layered structures, Nonlinear wave propagation in layered structures.

 
Robertson, JG

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Email: jgr@physics.usyd.edu.au

Optical interferometry in astronomy, Image processing.

 
Robinson, Peter

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Email: robinson@physics.usyd.edu.au

Linear and Nonlinear plasma waves, Plasma astrophysics, Space plasmas, Waves on random media, Wave-particle interactons, EEG waves, Statistical wave properties.

 
Sharma, Manjula

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2051
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: m.sharma@physics.usyd.edu.au

   
Sheppard, Colin

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2553
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: colin@physics.usyd.edu.au

Focusing, Diffraction, Scattering, and Imaging.

 
Smith, Geoff

School of Mathematical Sciences, UTS

School of Mathematical Sciences
University of Technology
PO Box 123
Broadway 2007
Phone: 9514 2236
Fax: 9514 2248
Email: gsmith@maths.uts.edu.au

   
Spurret, Brian

Faculty of Medicine
Dept. Obstetrics,
Gynaecology

Email: SpurreB@wahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Electrogastrograms

 
Thompson, Rosemary

School of Mathematics and Statistics, USYD

School of Mathematics and Staststics
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 5782
Fax: 9351 4534
Email: roset@maths.usyd.edu.au

Medical ultrasound, Models of the circulation, Acoustic waves, Cylindrical vessels.

 
Vladimirov, Sergey

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A29
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 5770
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: s.vladimirov@physics.usyd.edu.au

   
Wardle, Mark

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 2546
Email: wardle@physics.usyd.edu.au

Astrophysical fluid dynamics, MHD shock waves in weakly ionized, dusty plasmas.

 
Watson, Fred

Anglo-Australian Observatory

Phone: 6842 6301
Email: fgw@aaocbn.aao.gov.au

Interested in planar waveguide spectrographs for astronomy.

 
Wheatland, Mike

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 6079
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: wheat@physics.usyd.edu.au

Theory and data analysis of solar flares, Modelling of solar magnetic fields, Theory of flare initiated blast waves.

 
Wilkinson, Phil

IPS

PO Box 1386
Haymarket, NSW 1240
Phone: 9213 8003
Fax: 9213 8060
Email: phil@ips.gov.au

Ionospheric modelling, Radio propagation, Ionosphere effects on "Space Weather", Space plasmas, HF Systems, Visualization (Statistics).

Scintillation; ionospheric sources across wavelength range and its impact on systems such as GPS,
Tomography, Mapping techniques, Effects of induction fields.

Willes, Andrew

School of Physics, USYD

School of Physics A28
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 6079
Fax: 9351 7726
Email: willes@physics.usyd.edu.au

Space physics: wave dispersion and instabilities, applications to solar radio bursts and foreshock radio emission.

 
Winch, Denis

School of Mathematics and Statistics, USYD

School of Mathematics and Staststics F07
University of Sydney 2006
Phone: 9351 3235
Fax: 9351 4534
Email: denisw@maths.usyd.edu.au

Geomagnetism, Tides (ocean, atmosphere), Satellite magnetic data analysis.

 



theory ho
mepage wave physics homepage

University of Sydney | Faculty of Science | School of Physics | Science Foundation | Back to Top