Best Student Presentation Prize goes to our Darren

Each year for the GEM conference, a prize is awarded to the student who gave the best oral presentation. The presentation is judged on its clarity, scientific content, style of presentation, use of multimedia, and ability to answer the questions from the audience. The judging panel for this year includes Brian James, Neil Cramer, David McKenzie, Christine Charles, and Steve Buckman. In GEM 2002, Felix Cheung was awarded for his presentation of on "Dust cluster rotation in an axial magnetic field".

This year, the best student presentation prize was awarded to our student Darren Engwirda for his presentation on "Vortex structures in complex plasmas". He was given a certificate and $250 prize money proudly supported by Coherent Scientific. The judges also gave special mentions to three other students Luke Ryves (University of Sydney), Katherine Newton-McGee (University of Sydney), and Vicky Au (Australian National University). CPL would like to congratulate the students above for their outstanding performances.

Fig. 1: Darren Engwirda thanked the organiser and the support of the USYD complex plasma group.

Fig. 2: Alex (Darren's supervisor) was very happy about CPL getting the best student presentation prize in two consecutive years.

Felix Cheung





FastCounter by bCentral